Categories
Prayers

Prayer XXI

O Rādhārāṇī, I have heard and spoken many names in my lifetime, but none have given as much pleasure to my ears as those that belong to You, nor have any tasted as sweet on my tongue. It is said that Śukadeva Gosvāmī did not directly mention Your name in Śrīmad-Bhāgavatam because if he had done so, he would have become overwhelmed with ecstatic emotions, rendering him unable to complete his narration of that beautiful scripture. I can certainly empathise with this – though I am nowhere near as advanced as that exalted soul, my own experiences of Your holy names have given me a glimpse of their unrivalled power.

O daughter of Vṛṣabhānu, just as one cannot count the waves of the ocean, one cannot count the waves of love which spring forth from Your boundless heart and wash over those who sincerely turn to You – like the soothing lullaby of a mother to her child, those waves bring one relief from all the miseries of material existence. I do not know anything, and every day I make countless mistakes, but whenever I turn to You I feel acceptance and unconditional love.

O beloved of Dāmodara, there is nothing more precious in all of existence than Your beautiful lotus feet – indeed, the Supreme Lord, Śrī Kṛṣṇa, considers those feet to be dearer than life itself. Therefore, on this final day of Kartik, I beg for a place at Your divine feet. I can find no shelter in this material world; if You do not grant me shelter, I will have nowhere else to go.

O Rādhikā, You are my mother, my queen, and my worshipable Deity. I have never taken good care of my heart, so I now place it in Your lotus hands for safekeeping. Please do with it as You wish, for it belongs to You anyway.

20201201_023553

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.