Categories
Saṅkīrtana Stories

Summer Saṅkīrtana Day 9 (27/07/18) – Kettering & Luton

I had a couple of nice exchanges with supermarket staff today. First, I met a guy who works at Iceland. He was walking along the street handing out flyers when I stopped him and showed him a Chant and Be Happy. He said that he did meditation (he finds a quiet place outside to sit down and clear his mind) and was very interested to hear about mantra meditation. I explained that it is very difficult to meditate on nothingness but relatively easy to focus on a mantra. He wanted to give a donation for the book but didn’t have any cash on him. Fortunately, though, one of his colleagues appeared and gave him something to donate.

Later, I met an Irish lad named Niall. He was wearing a Sainsbury’s uniform and was on his lunch break. I told him that we were sharing books on meditation and spirituality, and he mentioned that his sister did a lot of meditation and that he was very interested in spirituality and the big questions of life. He decided to take an Easy Journey to Other Planets; he was obviously sincere and I’m sure he will read the book with interest. After that, he asked for my name, to which I replied, “It’s Nikhil, which is not that different from Niall.”

His response made me laugh: “Yeah, we both have weird names that wouldn’t be found on a keychain!” (I decided not to mention the keychain that I got many years ago from Ealing Road in Wembley.)

Today’s exchanges reinforced my conviction that there are interested people in every town and, if you have a sincere desire to meet them, Kṛṣṇa will arrange for them to cross your path.

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.